Evidence Based Medicine: Evidence Based Resources

Provides rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature.

The website includes an EBM Toolbox with various tools for practising and teaching EBM

Clinical evidence is a six monthly, updated compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions, published by the BMJ Publishing Group. It provides a concise account of the current state of knowledge, ignorance and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches of the literature.

EPIQ (Effective Practice, Informatics & Quality Improvement) was established in 2002 to support effective evidence-based practice, health informatics and quality improvement initiatives in the health and disability support sectors. EPIQ is a collaboration of academics, clinicians and other health sector professionals.

Evidence-Based Medicine is a journal released every other month which alerts clinicians of important advances in general and family practice, internal medicine, surgery, psychiatry, pediatrics and obstetrics and gynecology

Evidence-Base Mental Health is a journal released four times a year which alerts clinicians working in the field of mental health of important and clinically relevant advances in treatment, diagnosis, aetiology, prognosis/outcome research, quality improvement, continuing education, economic evaluation and qualitative research.

Evidence-Base Nursing is a journal released four times a year which alerts practising nurses of important and clinically relevant advances in treatment, diagnosis, aetiology, prognosis/outcome research, quality improvement, continuing education, economic evaluation and qualitative research.

This site is a resource for evidence-based pediatrics provided through the University of Michigan. The site includes a list of CATs, a CAT template (step by step guide on how to create a CAT), guidelines for starting a journal club and links to other websites.

The Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR) has 12 centers in the United-States for developing evidence reports and technology assessments of diagnostic and therapeutic interventions used in a variety of clinical conditions.

The goal of HIRU is to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of health care by providing innovative evidence-based information products and systems to health professionals, patients, policy makers, and the public.

This site is basically a very detailed search engine. It contains holdings from the AHCPR support guidelines, the AHCPR technology assessments and reviews, ATIS (HIV/AIDS technical information)

The NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) is the sibling of the UK Cochrane Centre and has the goal of producing reviews concerning the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of healthcare interventions.

Ovid provides access to a variety of resources including bibliographic databases (such as MEDLINE, EMBASE and CINAHL); more than 300 full text journals; and other clinical information products such as Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR) and some textbooks.

PEDro is an initiative of the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (CEBP) and has been developed to give physiotherapists and others rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, and systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials, in physiotherapy.

This site specializes in pediatric critical care (intensive care) medicine. It teaches the user how to use evidence-based medicine (e.g. how to critically appraise medical literature, how to use and calculate relevant statistics and how to use systematic reviews).

SumSearch is a ‘meta-searching service